Recently I came accross a problem where users were entering into a freshly installed mud with experience ... here is why and how to prevent it:
cause:
-user plays the game, gains exp, sets settings like "brief" and "set talk slow" and their pallette, etc
-user rerolls
-user's record in the user dat file is gone
... now, even though the user's information doesn't exist in any WCC file, we know that when they re-enter it fills in what name they were previously using, restores their settings, gives them a percentage of their evil points, and of courses gives them 10% of their exp (pending they had 'set keep on').
this is because this information is stored in the file "WGSGEN2.DAT." It is stored in the file under two "sections". i haven't looked into how it calls or retrieves the information because it really doesn't matter, but it stores them under "WCC PERMANENT USER" and "WCC MAJOR MUD EVIL". when you set up a multi-mud and change WCC to WBB or w/e, it would change those strings to "WBB PERMANENT USER" and "WBB MAJOR MUD EVIL".
now, if you used to have a second mud installed, but then later removed it, the information would still be in that file. as long as your call letters matched (WCC, WBB, etc) then the information would be used. granted, only people that have rerolled or were rerolled at some point without re-entering the game would have their exp, EPs, and settings used.
this also holds true in single mud BBS's -- say you want to reset, so you delete WCC*.* ... well guess what, that information is still in that file. anyone who has rerolled and didn't re-enter would have 10% of the exp they had when they rerolled.
how to fix it:
two nice little options on the SYSOP menu from majormud
C - Clear all saved evil points
CP- Clear all saved profiles (for resetting only)
pretty self explanitory. "C" clears all the evil point saves from the file and "CP" clears all the profile/exp information.
so the complete way to reset your realm would be:
execute the C option from the majormud sysop menu
execute the CP option from the majormud sysop menu
shutdown board
backup entire board (always ... just in case)
delete wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.dat, wccbank2.dat, and wccitow2.dat
replace all of those files with their respected .vir files. so copy wccuser2.vir to wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.vir to wccgang2.dat, etc. Note: if you don't have any .vir files, or need to get fresh ones; Go to your majormud install directory (the one with the setup.exe) and run: "icomp -d wccmmud.z FILENAME" (ex. "icomp -d wccmmud.z wccuser2.vir").
remove all items from all rooms (wccmmutl.exe)
run an offline recovery (wccmmutl.exe)
Resetting your Realm ... Completely
-
YaMamaBitch
- Posts: 1068
- Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:01 pm
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
I needed to know this, too. Thanks Syntax ;)
gasldfjgas..this is plat.
gasldfjgas..this is plat.
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
good deal
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
How do you get rid of the gangs that get stuck? Which file holds the gang data so I can switch it out with a blank one... :)
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
How do you get rid of the gangs that get stuck? Which file holds the gang data so I can switch it out with a blank one... :)
wccgang2.dat. prolly also wanna put in a fresh wccbank2.dat (to put in a fresh file, delete it, and then copy wccbank2.vir to wccbank2.dat [or wccgang2.dat to wccgang2.vir, or wccuser2.vir to wccuser2.dat, etc]).
wccgang2.dat. prolly also wanna put in a fresh wccbank2.dat (to put in a fresh file, delete it, and then copy wccbank2.vir to wccbank2.dat [or wccgang2.dat to wccgang2.vir, or wccuser2.vir to wccuser2.dat, etc]).
-
BiG_SyNeR
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
I had a pretty bizarre problem when I tried doing what was suggested here. Initally I had ver O up and running, did some edits, everything was all good, kinda exaggerated, but all my edits worked fine. I played locally for like 3 weeks or so, and decided I wanted to restart my BBS, edits and all. So I deleted my wcc*.* files, and then ran my 1.11o setup. When mud came up, I had the whole invalid starting room, death room blah blah blah crap going. I was all like hrm, WTF! Why would it work for me the first time I installed, and not after that??? I tried several things, deleting reg keys, reinstalling my server in differant directories, and I just couldn't figure it out.
Well, luckily, I had a backup of my wcc*.* files. So, I unzipped them into my BBS directory, started it up and it worked. At this point I was pretty confused. So, I tried clearing the evil points, and saved profiles, and that worked, but my excessive edits were still in place. So I tried copying my wcc*.vir files over my wcc*.dat files, and came back up with the same invalid room crap.
So anyways, to make a long story short, I had to restore my backup, clear EPs and profiles, and then copy the gang, player, and bank VIRs over thier respective DATs, then let the default WCCUPDA2.DAT file run its course, and it all worked out.
:hmm:
Well, luckily, I had a backup of my wcc*.* files. So, I unzipped them into my BBS directory, started it up and it worked. At this point I was pretty confused. So, I tried clearing the evil points, and saved profiles, and that worked, but my excessive edits were still in place. So I tried copying my wcc*.vir files over my wcc*.dat files, and came back up with the same invalid room crap.
So anyways, to make a long story short, I had to restore my backup, clear EPs and profiles, and then copy the gang, player, and bank VIRs over thier respective DATs, then let the default WCCUPDA2.DAT file run its course, and it all worked out.
:hmm:
Re: Resetting your Realm ... Completely
I had a pretty bizarre problem when I tried doing what was suggested here. Initally I had ver O up and running, did some edits, everything was all good, kinda exaggerated, but all my edits worked fine. I played locally for like 3 weeks or so, and decided I wanted to restart my BBS, edits and all. So I deleted my wcc*.* files, and then ran my 1.11o setup. When mud came up, I had the whole invalid starting room, death room blah blah blah crap going.
....
Did you install v1.11o correctly (http://www.forumshq.com/showthread.php?t=6436)? Also, as you may have seen by now, the update file wouldn't have deleted any records that you added.
....
Did you install v1.11o correctly (http://www.forumshq.com/showthread.php?t=6436)? Also, as you may have seen by now, the update file wouldn't have deleted any records that you added.