Page 1 of 1

Upgrading - What you should know.

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 6:08 pm
by syntax53
when you install mud as an upgrade (installing it overtop of a previously installed mud), it doesn't overwrite your .dat files. it only overwrites the mud program files, wccupda2.dat, and the *.vir files (the .vir files are the base dat files that have never been touched by playing users). if it overwrote your dat files, then all interaction your users had with the game like items in the room and such would be lost.



what this means is when you install a new upgrade or even just a reinstall the changes WONT BE APPLIED until the update file has been run through. so if you install v1.11n over a v1.11m installation the dats wont have any of the v1.11n stats until the update file is processed. so dont just install N and then make a bunch of edits and compile an update because you'll basicly end up with dats from v1.11m and a dll for v1.11n.



THE UPDATE FILE WILL NOT PROCESS UNLESS A USER IS IN THE GAME



the update file has NOT completely ran through when the audit trail says "majormud initialized." you MUST wait for it to say "Automatic Database Update Complete" to know it's finished.



if you're using the old console window the lines in the audit trail just show up as "MajorMUD Notice". you have to actually go into the remote sysop menu and view the end of the audit trail to see what the actual notice is (i think "MajorMUD Initialized" and "Automatic Database..." both show up as "MajorMUD Notice" in the old style console window. you should get one "MajorMUD Notice" before you can even enter the game and then another a few minutes later.