Resetting your Realm ... Completely
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 3:53 pm
Recently I came accross a problem where users were entering into a freshly installed mud with experience ... here is why and how to prevent it:
cause:
-user plays the game, gains exp, sets settings like "brief" and "set talk slow" and their pallette, etc
-user rerolls
-user's record in the user dat file is gone
... now, even though the user's information doesn't exist in any WCC file, we know that when they re-enter it fills in what name they were previously using, restores their settings, gives them a percentage of their evil points, and of courses gives them 10% of their exp (pending they had 'set keep on').
this is because this information is stored in the file "WGSGEN2.DAT." It is stored in the file under two "sections". i haven't looked into how it calls or retrieves the information because it really doesn't matter, but it stores them under "WCC PERMANENT USER" and "WCC MAJOR MUD EVIL". when you set up a multi-mud and change WCC to WBB or w/e, it would change those strings to "WBB PERMANENT USER" and "WBB MAJOR MUD EVIL".
now, if you used to have a second mud installed, but then later removed it, the information would still be in that file. as long as your call letters matched (WCC, WBB, etc) then the information would be used. granted, only people that have rerolled or were rerolled at some point without re-entering the game would have their exp, EPs, and settings used.
this also holds true in single mud BBS's -- say you want to reset, so you delete WCC*.* ... well guess what, that information is still in that file. anyone who has rerolled and didn't re-enter would have 10% of the exp they had when they rerolled.
how to fix it:
two nice little options on the SYSOP menu from majormud
C - Clear all saved evil points
CP- Clear all saved profiles (for resetting only)
pretty self explanitory. "C" clears all the evil point saves from the file and "CP" clears all the profile/exp information.
so the complete way to reset your realm would be:
execute the C option from the majormud sysop menu
execute the CP option from the majormud sysop menu
shutdown board
backup entire board (always ... just in case)
delete wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.dat, wccbank2.dat, and wccitow2.dat
replace all of those files with their respected .vir files. so copy wccuser2.vir to wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.vir to wccgang2.dat, etc. Note: if you don't have any .vir files, or need to get fresh ones; Go to your majormud install directory (the one with the setup.exe) and run: "icomp -d wccmmud.z FILENAME" (ex. "icomp -d wccmmud.z wccuser2.vir").
remove all items from all rooms (wccmmutl.exe)
run an offline recovery (wccmmutl.exe)
cause:
-user plays the game, gains exp, sets settings like "brief" and "set talk slow" and their pallette, etc
-user rerolls
-user's record in the user dat file is gone
... now, even though the user's information doesn't exist in any WCC file, we know that when they re-enter it fills in what name they were previously using, restores their settings, gives them a percentage of their evil points, and of courses gives them 10% of their exp (pending they had 'set keep on').
this is because this information is stored in the file "WGSGEN2.DAT." It is stored in the file under two "sections". i haven't looked into how it calls or retrieves the information because it really doesn't matter, but it stores them under "WCC PERMANENT USER" and "WCC MAJOR MUD EVIL". when you set up a multi-mud and change WCC to WBB or w/e, it would change those strings to "WBB PERMANENT USER" and "WBB MAJOR MUD EVIL".
now, if you used to have a second mud installed, but then later removed it, the information would still be in that file. as long as your call letters matched (WCC, WBB, etc) then the information would be used. granted, only people that have rerolled or were rerolled at some point without re-entering the game would have their exp, EPs, and settings used.
this also holds true in single mud BBS's -- say you want to reset, so you delete WCC*.* ... well guess what, that information is still in that file. anyone who has rerolled and didn't re-enter would have 10% of the exp they had when they rerolled.
how to fix it:
two nice little options on the SYSOP menu from majormud
C - Clear all saved evil points
CP- Clear all saved profiles (for resetting only)
pretty self explanitory. "C" clears all the evil point saves from the file and "CP" clears all the profile/exp information.
so the complete way to reset your realm would be:
execute the C option from the majormud sysop menu
execute the CP option from the majormud sysop menu
shutdown board
backup entire board (always ... just in case)
delete wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.dat, wccbank2.dat, and wccitow2.dat
replace all of those files with their respected .vir files. so copy wccuser2.vir to wccuser2.dat, wccgang2.vir to wccgang2.dat, etc. Note: if you don't have any .vir files, or need to get fresh ones; Go to your majormud install directory (the one with the setup.exe) and run: "icomp -d wccmmud.z FILENAME" (ex. "icomp -d wccmmud.z wccuser2.vir").
remove all items from all rooms (wccmmutl.exe)
run an offline recovery (wccmmutl.exe)