about upgrading and the update file
Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:39 pm
something nice about the update file that i noticed.... when it runs through it's process, it DOES NOT delete records that are not contained within it.
what this means is as long as all of your new records have record numbers higher then the defaults, you can have a pretty easy upgrade. you could just install the new version right over top of your current install (upgrading doesn't overwrite the dats), let the bbs load up, and then wait for "automatic database update complete." then shutdown, reapply whatever edits you've made to the default records, compile new update, and wala.
when you install mud to a directory where mud is already installed, it doesn't actually overwrite the dats. if it did, you'd lose the items that are on the ground and stuff. when mud is installed as an upgrade, it relies on the update file to make the changes to the dats. therefore, it's also important when you do an upgrade you wait for (verbatim:) "Automatic Database Update Complete" in the audit trail to be sure all the new updates have been applied. that line wont come unless at least one user is in the realm for awhile.
if your new edited record numbers do conflict you'll have to change them before hand, or redo them afterwards. i have a feature for this in the works, but it is very involved so i don't know how long it will take me.
-syn
what this means is as long as all of your new records have record numbers higher then the defaults, you can have a pretty easy upgrade. you could just install the new version right over top of your current install (upgrading doesn't overwrite the dats), let the bbs load up, and then wait for "automatic database update complete." then shutdown, reapply whatever edits you've made to the default records, compile new update, and wala.
when you install mud to a directory where mud is already installed, it doesn't actually overwrite the dats. if it did, you'd lose the items that are on the ground and stuff. when mud is installed as an upgrade, it relies on the update file to make the changes to the dats. therefore, it's also important when you do an upgrade you wait for (verbatim:) "Automatic Database Update Complete" in the audit trail to be sure all the new updates have been applied. that line wont come unless at least one user is in the realm for awhile.
if your new edited record numbers do conflict you'll have to change them before hand, or redo them afterwards. i have a feature for this in the works, but it is very involved so i don't know how long it will take me.
-syn