I screwed up.....

Post Reply
Durin
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:00 am

I screwed up.....

Post by Durin »

Well i am trying to get a board together to be put up tonight or tommorow and i was editing and removed the lims on items. Now i want them back and i screwed up a few other things. How can i fix this without reinstalling everything? Also why when i close nightmare will it say "nightmare.exe has caused an error and will be closed by windows" or something like that? Thanks!
Panterra X
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 30, 2002 5:00 am

Re: I screwed up.....

Post by Panterra X »

for the board try copying wcc*.vir to wcc*.dat



no idea why nightmare would crash when u close it...
syntax53
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 6:00 am

Re: I screwed up.....

Post by syntax53 »

copying *.vir to *.dat would reset all of the dats back to defaults. if you were going to do that though, I would just reinstall becuase people have had problems with those vir files.



another option is to run the install for mud again and just install it to a different directory. then either copy all of the dat files in or just the wccitem2.dat (items) in. if you have some custom items that you've added and want to save then you could export those items (choose just that range of items when exporting), copy the new dat file in and then import them back.



if you've done lots of edits with your items and are just trying to get the limit numbers back it would be a lot more complicated. i'd have to think about it a little but it could be done. let me know if that is what you are trying to do and then i'll bother explaining how.



as for your crashing problem on close, i'm guessing you're running windows xp? there is a small problem that has been tested and fixed for the next version which should be out this week.



-syn
Durin
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 6:00 am

Re: I screwed up.....

Post by Durin »

hehe, nah i havent done many changes to items. I just tried to reinstall mud over what i had but everything i did (namely lims #) stayed. I am running windows 2000 =) But i can just delte the entire wg dir. I just was hoping not to do that =)
Post Reply

Return to “Editing Questions and Guides”